Dr Shane Simonsen

Cooran, Sunshine Coast

Dr Shane Simonsen Sunshine Coast Tutor in Biology, Chemistry, GAMSAT, Maths, Physics, Statistics

<b>Brain Farm Tutoring</b>

Expert tutoring in science and maths from grade 8 to 12, and university chemistry, biology and biochemistry. As an experienced research scientist who left the lab to teach based on my love of tutoring, I can offer expert assistance within the subject matter. Recently I stopped working full time as a registered teacher but have decided to continue tutoring since I find it so rewarding. I am also experienced at preparing students for senior external exams. These is an excellent alternative for home schooled students who are looking for a flexible alternative pathway to tertiary studies.

In my experience there isn't a more effective way to teach complex concepts and instil deep understanding than one-on-one tutoring. My previous students commonly progressed from being on the edge of failing their subjects (C/D border) to passing very comfortably (A/B) within six months. I help students focus on their immediate challenges in their subjects, while using my extensive knowledge to tie in broader conceptual connections to make subsequent studies more effective. I also enjoy teaching more general strategies for problem solving, communication and content mastery. I am also highly experienced in assisting students in producing excellent EEI and ERT assignments.

I am available for tutoring in person at my tutoring studio, set in my small diverse farm in the lush Noosa hinterland, conveniently located 30 minutes from Gympie, Noosa and Nambour. I am also available for tutoring online, either by skype/facetime or via email. All students are given additional support by email for assignments as needed.

Rates are at $50 per hour, but I am happy for you to bring a classmate to share the costs.

Email shane.simonsen@hotmail.com.

Subjects

  • Biology - Secondary, Tertiary
  • Chemistry - Secondary, Tertiary
  • GAMSAT - Tertiary
  • Maths - Secondary
  • Physics - Secondary
  • Statistics - Secondary

Experience

I have over six years of experience as a full time tutor. Before that I have worked as a
volunteer tutor with recent refugees and a university tutor.

Qualifications

I have received an OP 1, Bachelor of Science with Honours (I) and a University Medal
from
UQ, a Ph.D. with a Dean's commendation from UQ in organic chemistry/biochemistry. I
have completed a Graduate Diploma of Education and have experience teaching in the
Queensland secondary system. I taught and tutored chemistry, physics, biology and
math
at Hubbard's School in Brisbane in the senior external program and tertiary preparation
courses.

Services

  • Private Tuition
  • Group Tuition
  • Teaching Tuition
  • Online Help

Rates

$50 per hour

Student Discount

Special Offer - Two students in same subject for same price. Bring a class-mate and save..

Gender

Male

Updated

Profile last updated on 23-Jan-2017 (registered 19-Jul-2010)

Contact

Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • You Choose
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region