Matching Students and Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Ms Cheryl Dober

Geelong, Geelong

Ms Cheryl Dober Geelong Tutor in English, ESL, Essay Writing, Reading

I am Head of English at Geelong Baptist College, currently teaching Years 9,10,12. With 24 years' teaching experience and industry experience as a magazine editor/publisher, freelance writer, and educational video script writer, I am very skilled at helping to improve a student's reading, writing, speaking, thinking and organisational skills. I am flexible in approach, devising my own work or helping with another teacher's work. Areas of focus may include essay writing, comprehension, spelling, sentence structure, and speech writing and delivery.

I am teaching the following Year 12 texts in 2017 but am willing to consider the others on the list:

Invictus and Ransom (Comparative Study)
Burial Rites

The following services are also offered:
-setting extra homework exercises
-help with school homework
-essay structuring
-home schooling course work
-help with organisational skills
-help with special needs and gifted students

I have availability for ONE more student but only on the weekends now.

I live in Leopold and am able to have students come to my house or I can come to your house or a library if that suits. I charge $5.00 to travel outside of Leopold.


  • English - Primary, Secondary, Tertiary
  • ESL - Primary, Secondary, Tertiary
  • Essay Writing - Primary, Secondary, Tertiary
  • Reading - Primary, Secondary, Tertiary


-23 years' teaching experience (Years 7-12) in Geelong and Werribee
-Currently Head of English at Geelong Baptist College

-Editor and publisher of a girls' magazine called Animalz Be Inspired
-Freelance writer for women's magazines

-Educational video producer for APPLESEED PRODUCTIONS. Titles include:
Robin Klein and Company
The Paul Jennings Story
That's Debatable!


-Major in English, Monash University
-Diploma of Education, Monash University


  • Private Tuition
  • Group Tuition
  • Teaching Tuition
  • Home Visits
  • Phone Help
  • Online Help


My fees are as follows:

$60 per hour -Years 5-9 (individual); $45 (groups of 2)
$65 per hour- Years 10 (individual); $50 (groups of 2)
$70 per hour- Year 11 and 12 (individual); $55 (groups of 2)




Profile last updated on 20-Jul-2017 (registered 09-Dec-2014)


Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • You Choose
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region