Matching Students and Tutors Across Australia ... Matching Students and Tutors

Miss Alyson Sung

 Brisbane - Underwood

Brisbane tutor in Calculus, Computing, English, ESL, French, Maths, Physics, Reading, TOEFL

(1 student review)

I have thorough experience in;

Maths (Maths A, B, C)
English
Physics
High School Science
Information Technology (IPT/Computer Science)
ESL
Essay writing

I have a passion for children and people and I am familiar with current school curriculum- primary and secondary.

During sessions, my focus is to help my students develop an understanding of the material above and beyond basic recall. Every mentoring case is different and I try to cater to student's learning style. After every session, I ensure that students have notes and examples that we covered. Additionally, if necessary I can have notes and worksheets prepared for the sessions. I have had over four years of experience in mentoring students under the supervision of Jasmine Yin, supervisor of Kumon Annerley. I am also happy to do editing and drafting of assignment pieces over email for an entirely different rate depending on the case.

I am currently a fourth-year student at the University of Queensland and have studied courses in Mathematics (Calculus, Discrete and Statistics), interpreted, object-oriented, high-level programming language with dynamic semantics, HTML/CSS, Visual Basic (macros in Microsoft suite, R, Matlab, C, Assembly Languages, Physics, Psychology and French. Whilst currently completing my undergraduate degree, I have done casual work in retail, hospitality and at Kumon.

I am fully fluent conversationally in Chinese, Mandarin. Can understand but speak broken Taiwanese. I also have a solid background in dance, graphic design, music composing and photography/film. I am an avid reader and have read most 'classic texts' studied at school.

I am quite flexible with my availability (if it is within 5km of UQ or Underwood) and I'm willing to come to you or meet you at a local library or your family home. Please do not contact me for an assignment due at last minute, I have a very busy schedule involving many commitments and don't generally take on last-minute assignment work unless it is proof-reading.

The students I have worked include a range of different curriculums: of distance education, homeschooling, Christian private schools, part-time students, private non-denominational schools, state schools and selective schools. I prefer not to do one-on-one conversational classes for English.

If you are interested in my mentoring services, I prefer you send me an email with any resources attached and I will follow up with a phone call/reply when I can; I will only follow up on a case if I feel I am able to take your case or refer you to another tutor/mentor who I feel is more suited; otherwise I send an automated reply.

I also help post-graduate, international students translate spec sheets for university assignments in information technology.

Contact

Experience

I can share my tips on time management, gathered from my personal experience in academic studies. I went to a single-sex school myself and was/currently an advocate for Women in STEM fields. I was a cocurricular captain in high school and coordinated many different activities such as service, sport and mentoring.

As a tutor, I have had over four years experience at Kumon Annerley Education Centre in English and Mathematics. I have supported students in their school coursework and also extension work across all levels.

Qualifications

QCE, OP4*, Moreton Bay College (2014) ;

Mathematics B: VHA
Mathematics C: HA
English: VHA
Information Processing Technology: VHA 8
Physics: VHA
Chemistry: HA

Currently a student at the University of Queensland, studying a Bachelor of Science (Computer Science) & concurrent Diploma of Languages (French).
Valid 'blue card' holder est. 2015. Application in for a Yellow Card.
Former holder of First aid certificate with CPR (exp). Soon to have a valid First Aid Certificate with CPR, anaphylaxis and asthma management.
A holder of a barista license with coffee art and a certificate in safe food management.

Co-curricular accreditations:
Most improved senior strings player, MBC 2015; fencing captain and champion fencer of MBC, choreographer and soloist in senior MBC dance troupe, lead dancer in a tapping position in the musical "Thoroughly Modern Millie", captain of ICT support Team (audiovisual team), Service to Music Award, Head of College Award for Long-Standing Contribution to the College. Dance ministry at Riverlife Baptist Church and also a pianist & violinist.


* OP was considered as a high OP3 due to 'points' from maths C and co-curricular activities. Additionally, due to the small cohort, standard deviation really affected our place in the state. Consequently, our grade's DUX did not receive an OP1.

Rates

$35/h*

*Rates may be subject to change depending on the distance travelled for the session and the preparation time expected for each student.

Student Discount

Special Offer - If you come to me at UQ, I'm happy to do $30/hour

Gender

Female

Registered

Joined TutorFinder on 21-May-2016 (updated profile on 09-Mar-2018)
Tutoring Location
  • Tutor's Place in Underwood
  • Home Visits within 10 kms

  • Private & Group Tuition
Tutor in Underwood

English

English (Primary, Secondary)
ESL (Secondary)
Reading (Primary, Secondary)
TOEFL (Secondary)

Maths

Calculus (Secondary)
Maths (Primary, Secondary)

Science

Physics (Secondary)

Technology

Computing (Secondary)

Language

French (Introduction)

"Alyson has really helped our teen excell in both Maths and English. She is very professional and organized. She has helped him prioritize his studies and helped prepare him for assessments. She has also taught him valuable study skills and task management crucial for the upcoming grades."

Sabrina B    
Tutor Registration
  • Free Ad
  • Premium
  • Featured
  • You Choose
  • Tutor Jobs
  • Students
  • Reviews
  • Homepage
Free Student Ad
  • Free Ad
  • Top Tutors
  • Any Subject
  • Your Region